Close

Yates – White Creek

About the Book

A witty, haunting tale of family and friendship, regret and redemption, set on a remote Wyoming cattle ranch in the dead of winter.

The White Creek Ranch has been in Hap Cobb’s family for over a century and a half, but Hap is now eighty-two, and the last surviving member of his family. Tart-tongued, moody, and all too often “a miserable old fart” (in the words of his long-suffering ranch hand and closest friend, Aaron Littlefield), Hap has no rival as a home cook, owns the best-stocked private library in the state, and prides himself on his “God-given ability” to exasperate everyone he meets. The enormous ranch house he inherited long ago from his grandfather stands mostly empty these days, save for Hap and Aaron, and while their life together is both busy and comfortable, Hap often loses himself in his past, knowing he has little future left.

When a sudden blizzard hits one January evening, however, and Aaron opens the door to a young woman and a teenaged boy seeking shelter from the storm, everything Hap thought he knew about the world begins to shift. With these two unlooked-for houseguests, the White Creek Ranch soon becomes a wellspring of mystery and possibility, and will never be the same again.

A story of magical realism in the tradition of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and John Crowley.

About the Author

Bart Yates lives in Iowa City, Iowa, and is the author of four previous novels: Leave Myself Behind (winner of the 2004 Alex Award), The Brothers Bishop, The Distance Between Us, and (writing as Noah Bly) The Third Hill North Of Town. He is also a music teacher, and plays clarinet, saxophone, and bass guitar.

Buy the Book

There are several ways to order White Creek: A Fable:

  1. If you work for a library or bookstore, use this special order form, or send us an email through our Contact page and ask for a 50% discount off of the retail price. If you are part of a school (K-12) and plan to use the book in a class setting, send us an email and ask for 25% off of the retail price (we’ll verify all .edu email addresses).
  2. As an individual you can also order the book directly through us (see order form below), either as a hardcover, paperback, or eBook (via Amazon). Alternatively you can purchase hardcover or paperback versions of the book through brick-and-mortar stores or other online outlets.

 

Book Details

Available as a Paperback, Hardcover (with dust jacket) or Kindle: 198 pages
Publisher: Culicidae Press; 1st edition (February 28, 2017)
Language: English
Kindle ASIN: B06XCB6ZPY