Zach – For The Birds

About the Book

For this second edition (2015) Dr. Zach updated her For the Birds book, which was originally published in 2005.

The book is an intuitive and interactive way to learn how to read music by combining music notation with biographies of twenty-five internationally known women composers from four thousand years ago to the present. The first of a multi-volume set. The biographies of the following women composers are included in this volume: Enheduanna, Kassia, Hildegard von Bingen, Maddalena Casulana, Francesca Caccini, Elizabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Anna Amalia, Theresia von Paradis, Agata Szymanowska, Clara Schumann, Lili Oukalani, Agathe Backer Grondahl, Chiquinha Gonzaga, Teresa Carreno, Dame Ethel Smyth, Amy Beach, Nadia Boulanger, Florence Price, Jean Coulthard, Peggy Glanville Hicks, Marian McPartland, Erzsebet Szonyi, Sofia Gubaidulina, Kikuko Masumoto, and Anoushka Shankar. Several quiz pages with answers and a bibliography are included.

Buy the Book

2015womenCompCoverRectoFLATSpecial pricing available for students and faculty with .edu email addresses. Go to our online store to order the book, then enter an .edu email under billing information and at the Checkout panel enter CPRESSEDU20 by clicking on the Add promotional discount. We will verify all .edu addresses.

Alternatively, if you work for a library or a bookstore, use the code CPRESSLIB50 to buy the book at 50% off of the retail price. Again, we’ll verify the origin of each purchase.

You can also order directly from Amazon at the normal retail price.

Product Details

Paperback: 76 pages
Publisher: Culicidae Press, LLC; 2 edition (July 13, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1941892108
ISBN-13: 978-1941892107
Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 0.2 x 11 inches

About the Author

zachMiriam Zach holds degrees from Northwestern University, the University of Chicago, and the University of Florida. When she is not working on books about women composers (she is the founder and director of the International Women Composers Library), Miriam teaches music & health courses in the Honors Department at the University of Florida. She also maintains her own music studio where she teaches piano, harpsichord, and pipe organ.

She just published a pamphlet book about the latest acquisition for the International Women Composers Library, a four-rank one-manual portable prototype pipe organ, Opus 28, aka Emily, designed and built by the premier organ builder A. David Moore who is based in Pomfret, Vermont. The book is now available at our online store. For more information about her work go to